2017 Award Winners

The Heart Rhythm Society is proud to recognize these exemplary individuals for their unique contributions.

Recognition Award Winners


Distinguished Scientist Award (Clinical)
  • Barry J. Maron, MD

    Barry J. Maron, MD’s name is synonymous with hypertrophic cardiomyopathy (HCM). He has published more than 700 peer reviewed studies related largely to various aspects of this disease. His 40-year research career and work has provided an understanding of the natural history and clinical course of HCM, transforming HCM from a disease with grim prognosis to a contemporary and treatable condition compatible with normal or extended life expectancy for most patients, and with low mortality of 0.5% per year. Most important in this paradigm change has been his initiative for the primary prevention of sudden death through expansion of risk stratification markers that more precisely identify high risk patients and ultimately, application of the implantable cardioverter-defibrillator to young HCM patients for protection from sudden death. Dr. Maron is recognized as a patient advocate having written a book describing all aspects of the disease designed specifically for the HCM patient population (now in its third edition) and was also responsible for the Guidant Affair that led to more open communications and relationships between industry and the cardiology community in the best interests of the HCM patient population. Finally, Dr. Maron’s 35-year Sudden Death in Young Athletes Registry has defined the causes, incidence and epidemiology of death in 3,000 trained athletes. This work has generated recommendations for improved screening of U.S. high school and college athletes that can lead to more effective detection of potentially lethal cardiovascular diseases, including hypertrophic cardiomyopathy.


Distinguished Scientist (Basic)
  • Mark E. Anderson, MD, FHRS

    Mark E. Anderson, MD, FHRS is recognized for his clinical expertise, research creativity and productivity, mentorship, and leadership in American academic medicine. He was an undergraduate at Macalester College, obtained his MD and PhD degrees at the University of Minnesota, and trained in Medicine and Cardiology at Stanford. It was at Stanford that he started to work on CaMKII under the mentorship of Howard Schulman, a distinguished neuroscientist: Mark’s special insight was the idea that Schulman’s results suggesting a role for electrical signaling in CaMKII activation in neurons might also apply in the heart. His first faculty appointment was at Vanderbilt, where he rose to direct the Arrhythmia Service and the cardiology fellowship program. After 10 years at Vanderbilt, he moved to Iowa to become Chief of Cardiology and then Chair of Medicine, and in 2015 was appointed the William Osler Chair of the Department of Medicine at Johns Hopkins. Dr. Anderson is a remarkably versatile, visionary, and productive investigator whose fundamental work has been consistently guided by translational goals. His work has defined the role of CaMKII in arrhythmias and heart failure, and is now extending our understanding of CaMKII signaling in other pathology such as sick sinus syndrome, injury due to ischemia-reperfusion, oxidant stress-related disease, diabetes, and asthma. His studies have been published in the highest impact journals, have been confirmed by other investigators worldwide, and have informed collaborative and independent efforts to develop a new class of drugs for treating cardiovascular and other diseases. In his off-time, Mark, his wife Sarah, and his daughters Evelyn, Caroline, and Elizabeth enjoy skiing, snowboarding, and cooking.


Distinguished Teacher Award
  • Francis Marchlinski, MD, FHRS

    Francis Marchlinski, MD, FHRS is the Richard T. and Angela Clark President’s Distinguished Professor of Medicine at the Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania, the Director of Electrophysiology, University of Pennsylvania Health Care System, and the Director of the Electrophysiology Laboratory at the Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania. Dr. Marchlinski is a graduate of the University of Pennsylvania Medical School. He completed his postdoctoral internal medicine residency and cardiology/electrophysiology fellowship training at the Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania. For over thirty years Dr. Marchlinski has remained at the cutting edge of cardiac rhythm management. He has authored or co-authored over 350 original scientific articles and over 150 book chapters/reviews/editorials on a variety of topics in cardiac electrophysiology. His EP team at Penn has worked to successfully improve localizing and ablation techniques for the treatment of both atrial fibrillation and ventricular tachycardia and optimize device therapy for treating heart failure and preventing sudden cardiac death. Dr. Marchlinski has served on the International Heart Rhythm Society Committee to establish guidelines for the treatment of atrial fibrillation and ventricular tachycardia using catheter ablation techniques. He has been the recipient of the Luigi Mastroianni Clinical Innovator Award, the Venice Arrhythmia Distinguished Scientist Award and the ACTS Distinguished Investigator Award – Career Achievement –Translation from Early Clinical Use to Applicability for Widespread Clinical Practice. Dr. Marchlinski is on the editorial board of Circulation, Arrhythmias and Electrophysiology, American Journal of Cardiology, HeartRhythm, Journal of Cardiovascular Electrophysiology, Journal of Interventional Cardiac Electrophysiology, and JACC- Electrophysiology, and is the Arrhythmia Section Editor for Journal of the American College of Cardiology. Dr. Marchlinski has organized and directed multiple fellowship training courses, regional and International EP symposia and has received numerous teaching awards at the University of Pennsylvania.



Lectureship Award Winners


Douglas P. Zipes Lectureship Award

Alfred L. George, MD


Eric N. Prystowsky Lectureship Award 

Fred Morady, MD


Founders’ Lectureship Award

George J. Klein, MD


Abstract Award Winners


Eric N. Prystowsky Clinical Research Award

Christian H. Heeger, MD


Eric N. Prystowsky Early Career Researcher Award

Ki-Woon Kang, MD


Fellow with the Highest-Scoring Abstract

Akira Fujii, MD


Highest Scoring Abstract in the Category Allied Professional

Benjamin Helm, MS


Young Investigator Awards


Basic Research Finalists

Wenchin Tsai, MD
Markus B. Sikkel, MBBS, PhD
Daniel S. Matasic, BS

Clinical Research Finalists

Andreu Porta-Sanchez, MD
Marwan Refaat, MD, FHRS
Zak Loring, MD


HeartRhythm Journal Awards

Clinical Research: Tomos E. Walters, MBBS, PhD
Basic Research: David W. Hunter, BSEE



Exit Heart Rhythm Scientific Sessions

You are about to exit the Heart Rhythm Scientific Sessions website. Upon clicking the Continue button, you will be redirected to an external website.